Skip to content
July 7, 2012 / Jeff d.

Well, I finally started blogging.

I’ve wanted to start blogging for quite some time now, and I think I have finally found a reason worthy of putting forth the effort. In about a week I will be presenting three sessions at the New Tech Annual Conference in Grand Rapids, Michigan and I want a more conspicuous place to post resources (i.e. I want them available to anyone, not just network conference goers). Plus, I think it’s time I get over my biggest hangup for starting a blog: not being able to think of a clever name (I’m still not happy with it, but life goes on).

As a little background, I am a high school math teacher (actually a facilitator, as we in the New Tech Network call ourselves). I’ve been teaching for six years, but this past year has been by far the most eventful, thought-provoking, and rewarding of my short career. Just over a year ago at New Tech’s New Schools Training a friend of mine and former principal of the school (@ptrkmkl) introduced me to Twitter. Not that I hadn’t heard of Twitter, but at the time I had no online presence whatsoever and preferred to keep it that way. But when he explained to me all the potential professional benefits, I signed up. I began following some awesome educators (more on that to come). Combine that with the fact that we were starting a New Tech high school, and a journey began for me that can be summed up as follows:

I have a lot of passions and they are changing and growing every day – which was another hangup for starting this blog. But I figure I’ll find my niche as the blog progresses.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Ken Olson / Jul 7 2012 11:11 pm

    Fantastic first post. Love the graphic on your progression and reasoning. Looking forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

